Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer



DEARBORN, Mich. – For more than 30 years, the name Mike Gibson was synonymous with University of Michigan-Dearborn volleyball.

From 1983 to 2013, Gibson, known throughout the UM-Dearborn community as "Gib," led the Wolverines (formerly the Wolves) to nearly 700 wins, earning multiple conference, district and region Coach of the Year honors, while coaching four NAIA All-Americans, along with dozens of All-Conference honorees and NAIA Scholar-Athletes.

The University of Michigan-Dearborn Department of Athletics & Recreation is proud to induct Mike "Gib" Gibson into the UM-Dearborn Athletics Hall of Fame as a part of the inaugural class. The induction banquet is set for 7 pm Thursday in the Michigan Room of Fairlane Center South in Dearborn.

Gibson started the volleyball program as a club sport at UM-Dearborn in 1982 and the then Wolves were quickly elevated to varsity status in 1983. He closed his career after the 2013 season with a record of 694-686 (.503), the winningest coach in the history of the volleyball program and any sport at UM-Dearborn. Gibson led UM-Dearborn to a program record 39 wins in 1998, four-straight 30-win seasons from 1995-98 and 14 winning campaigns in 31 years.

In addition to his success as the UM-Dearborn volleyball coach, Gibson also served as an administrator for the Department of Athletics & Recreation, was on the Board of Directors for the Michigan Interscholastic Volleyball Coaches Association for 25 years and was the NAIA representative for the Board of Directors of USA Volleyball for four years.

Gibson founded the youth Victors Volleyball Club in 1985 and continues his work as the program director to this day. The Victors still compete at the UM-Dearborn Fieldhouse, hosting practices and several competitions throughout the year.

During the 2007 season, Gibson was named the Regional Coach of the Year, while earning District/Conference Coach of the Year three times.

Gibson joins fellow inductees, Pat Hughes (Men's Basketball), Diane Calliway (Women's Basketball), Jesse Hubenschmidt (Men's Ice Hockey) and Dr. Peggy Foss (Former UM-Dearborn Director of Athletics) in the first class to be honored by UM-Dearborn Athletics Hall of Fame.

For more information on the event and the Hall of Fame Golf Outing at TPC Michigan on June 15, CLICK HERE