Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

2019 All-Sports Banquet Recap

2019 All-Sports Banquet Recap

DEARBORN, Mich. – The University of Michigan-Dearborn hosted the annual All-Sports Banquet at the UM-Dearborn Fieldhouse on Monday night with student-athletes, families, sponsors and University dignitaries in attendance as the very best from the 2018-19 academic year were honored.


The night opened with an inspiring speech from UM-Dearborn men's basketball all-time leading scorer and UM-Dearborn Athletics Hall of Famer Patrick Hughes giving the keynote address. Men's Ice Hockey's Tyler Dalton provided an emotional senior speech, while the WHAC All-Academic, Champions of Character, NAIA Scholar-Athletes and ACHA Scholar-Athletes received their awards.

Individual awards voted on by the All-Sports Banquet committee were also given out, including Ro'Zhane Wells of women's basketball and Tyler Groat from men's ice hockey being named the Athletes of the Year.

2019 All-Sports Banquet honorees:

Female Wolverine Award: Lead Oldham, Softball

Male Wolverine Award: Kevin Bechard, Men's Ice Hockey

Female Chancellor's Award: Jenna Rogers, Women's Basketball and Soccer

Male Chancellor's Award: Daniel Kerr, Baseball

Female Newcomer of the Year: Madelin Skene, Softball

Male Newcomer of the Year: Ryan Exell, Cross Country

Female Rudy Award: Marina Goocher (Four-time winner), Club Wrestling

Male Rudy Award: Ahmed Bitar, Club Wrestling

Female SLAAM Scholarship Award: Sade Lemons, Women's Basketball

Male SLAAM Scholarship Award: Ben Phillips, Men's Lacrosse

Coach of the Year (Voted on by all UM-Dearborn head coaches): Jordan Sweeney, Women's Basketball

Acclaimed Staff Award: Michelle Wilson

Female Athlete of the Year: Ro'Zhane Wells, Women's Basketball

Male Athlete of the Year: Tyler Groat, Men's Ice Hockey