Haltinner named ACHA Coach of the Year

Haltinner named ACHA Coach of the Year

TROY, Mich. – University of Michigan-Dearborn Head Coach Chris Haltinner has been named the 2019 American Collegiate Hockey Association Men's Division I Coach of the Year.  Haltinner becomes the first recipient of the award from the University of Michigan-Dearborn.

Haltinner was chosen from among a group of finalists that included Lindenwood University's Rick Zombo, Chad Berman of the University of Arizona, Gary Astalos of Adrian College, and Kirk Handy, head coach of Liberty University.

The 2018-19 Wolverines finished the season with 30 wins, the most for Haltinner in his six years leading the program. UM-Dearborn put together win streaks of 10 games and 17 games, while holding the ranking of No. 2 in the ACHA from November, through the end of the regular season.

The Wolverines captured the 2018-19 Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Conference regular season title with a 9-1 league record. Haltinner was named the WHAC Coach of the Year earlier this season. The WHAC is set to join the ACHA next season.

In six seasons, Haltinner has restored UM-Dearborn to its place as a premier program in the ACHA. He has a career record of 136-72-11 and has taken the Wolverines to the ACHA Division I National Tournament each of the last four seasons, with the team advancing to the national semifinals last month. The semifinal appearance marked the best result for the Wolverines in the tournament since the event's first season in 1991-92, when UM-Dearborn finished as the national runner up.

Haltinner's Wolverines won the 2015-16 and 2016-17 GLCHL Playoff Tournament titles, while also capturing the 2017-18 WHAC Postseason Tournament title. His team has excelled in the classroom as well, with seven Wolverines earning ACHA Scholar-Athlete honors this season.

UM-Dearborn's assistant coaching staff, including Rick DeSana, Mike Scarpello and Rich Gauthier, has been instrumental in the recent success of the Wolverine program.

Prior to taking the head coaching position at UM-Dearborn, Haltinner worked as a goalie coach and later as an assistant coach for the Wolverines. He started his coaching career working at the Mitch Korn Goalie Camps. Haltinner also serves as the University of Michigan-Dearborn Athletics Admissions Liaison.

Chris Haltinner attended Henry Ford Community College and Schoolcraft College where he studied Emergency Medical Services firefighting/paramedic. Chris and his wife Stephanie, a Physician at the University of Michigan Hospital, reside in Canton, Mich., with their son, Landen.



Year             Wins             Losses          Ties              Win%

2013-14        20                22                1                  46.5

2014-15        18                22                3                  41.8   

2015-16        22                9                  2                  66.6

2016-17        24                8                  1                  72.7

2017-18        22                7                  2                  70.9

2018-19        30                4                  1                  85.7

TOTALS      136               72                11                 62.1                     


Recipients of the ACHA Men's Division 1 Coach of the Year Award

 2000                Joe Battista                            Penn State University

 2001*              Josh Brandwene                      University of Delaware

 2001*              Bob Zion                                Eastern Michigan University

 2002                Joe Battista                            Penn State University

 2003                Chad Cassel                           University of Illinois

 2004                Dan Morris                             Ohio University

 2005                Joe Augustine                        University of Rhode Island

 2006                Joe Augustine                        University of Rhode Island

 2007                Scott Balboni                         Penn State University

 2008                Chad Cassel                          University of Illinois

 2009                Craig McAlister                      University of Central Oklahoma

 2010                Jeremy Goltz                         Arizona State University

 2011                Dan Phelps                           Adrian College

 2012                M.F. Schurman                      University of Delaware

 2013                Wade Regier                         Minot State University

 2014                Greg Powers                         Arizona State University

 2015                Craig McAlister                      University of Central Oklahoma

 2016                Rick Zombo                          Lindenwood University

 2017                Wade Regier                         Minot State University

 2018                Gary Astalos                         Adrian College

 2019                Chris Haltinner                      University of Michigan-Dearborn

*  Co-recipients

By Nick McCutcheon, UM-Dearborn Sports Information Director