Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Ewald, O'Hara, Verduzco named NAIA Scholar Athetes

Ewald, O'Hara, Verduzco named NAIA Scholar Athetes

DEARBORN, Mich. - The University of Michigan-Dearborn 2017 softball season was the best in program history, with the team finishing 30-10 overall and earning the first Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Conference regular season championship in school history.

The Wolverines also saw tremendous success in the classroom, with several postseason academic awards. UM-Dearborn picked up three more honors with Jordan Ewald (JR/Wixom, MI), Kelly O'Hara (SO/Traverse City, MI) and Gina Verduzco (JR/Portage, MI) all being named NAIA Scholar Athletes, it was announced by the NAIA on Wednesday.

In order to be nominated by an institution's head coach or sports information director, a student-athlete must maintain a minimum grade point average of 3.5 on a 4.0 scale and must have achieved a junior academic status.

The award is the first for each of the student-athletes, while all three were named to the WHAC All-Academic Team earlier in the year. Ewald became the first student-athlete in UM-Dearborn athletics history to be named to the College of Sports Information Directors of America Academic All-District Team.

UM-Dearborn finished the 2016-17 academic year with 14 NAIA Scholar Athletes in eight sponsored sports.