Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Wolverines advance to WHAC Championship Game

Wolverines advance to WHAC Championship Game

By Aarif Deen, Assistant Sports Information Director

DEARBORN, Mich. – The No. 1 seed University of Michigan-Dearborn men's hockey team defeated No. 4 seed Lawrence Tech in a Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Conference Postseason Tournament semifinal on Saturday at the UM-Dearborn Ice Arena.

The Wolverines scored three goals in a four-minute stretch late in the second period to pull away for a 4-1 victory, advancing to the WHAC Championship Game and improving to 28-2-1 on the season.

After taking an early 1-0 lead off a goal from Billy Brock, UM-Dearborn got into penalty trouble. A power-play goal from the Blue Devils tied the game at 1-1 before the first intermission. In the second, the Wolverines took three straight penalties, but Thomas Proudlock stood tall in goal to keep the game tied.

After killing off the first two penalties, UM-Dearborn capitalized on the third shorthanded opportunity, as Tyler Groat went in on a breakaway and to make it 2-1. The Wolverines took control from there, as John Barlow added a goal just over a minute later.

UM-Dearborn took advantage of its third power play of the night, as Brock added his second of the game to give the Wolverines a three-goal lead before the break.

Brock's two goals led the offense, while Groat added one goal and one assist. Sean McLaren, Michael Hodgson, Andrew Spiegel and Chase Best each finished with one assist.

In goal, Proudlock recorded 16 saves, including six during the early portion of the second period, to earn his 25th victory of the season.

The Wolverines look for a second straight WHAC Postseason Tournament Championship at 1 pm tomorrow at the UM-Dearborn Ice Arena. UM-Dearborn will play No. 2 seed Indiana Tech, which defeated No. 3 Aquinas in the second semifinal on Saturday.


WHAC Conference Awards for UM-Dearborn: 

Player of the Year: Tyler Groat

Newcomer of the Year: Dawson Richard

Coach of the Year: Chris Haltinner

All-WHAC First Team: Thomas Proudlock, Tyler Groat, Billy Brock, Troy Saunders

All-WHAC Second Team: Justin Dunn, Conor Cunningham

All-Academic Team: John Barlow, Kevin Bechard, Tyler Dalton, Tyler Groat, Michael Hodgson, Thomas Proudlock, Troy Saunders

Champion of Character: Tyler Dalton


WHAC Tournament Results:

Friday, March 8

No. 4 Lawrence Tech 5, No. 5 Concordia 2


Saturday, March 9, 2019

No. 1 UM-Dearborn 4, No. 4 Lawrence Tech 1

No. 2 Indiana Tech 7,  No. 3 Aquinas 1


Sunday, March 10

No. 1 UM-Dearborn vs. No. 2 Indiana Tech, 1 PM

UM-Dearborn sweeps WHAC Honors
November 27, 2018 UM-Dearborn sweeps WHAC Honors